NEWS ALERT ON KEVIN SITES CAPTURED IN IRAQ……..

Fade in: Reader is enjoying a quiet night surfing the net and looking at an earlier post on VINMAN’s VERBOSITy………………

…………..(FROM MARCH 15, 2003) And that’s just one story of my stories……all journalists have them and (I still say) we are as tight-knit a group of firefighters, police officers and soldiers. BUT I DIGRESS.

The original intention of this posting was to share with you a website I found this morning. It is that of a CNN journalist on the front lines in the Middle East.

Suffice to say, that it is the type of assignment almost all of us who got into the business hoped to get, to become the person that reports to the masses on the front lines in foreign lands. I am older now and ensconced in newspaper’s upper management echelons, but I envy this guy and empathize with him at the same time. As my dad always reminds me, the ancient Chinese saying of “May you live in interesting times” was originally intended as a curse.

Read Kevin Sites Blog and enjoy. I find it spectacular insight into the world of today’s correspondents. Thank You for sharing this with us, Kevin!!!

I’ve blogrolled him into my favorites so you can always get there from here.

UPDATE I RECEIVED TODAY, APRIL 11, 2003…….

Kevin was captured on the front lines outside Tikrit a few hours ago. He and

his team were held at gunpoint, accused of espionage, fired at, interrogated,

threatened with execution, then released after about a four-hour hell. All of

us are relieved that he is now safe and sound.

Click

here to hear his account of the ordeal.


Click

here to discuss

Leave a Reply

